Bihar Election Result 2020: List of key candidates who won or lost


The NDA has managed to return to power with a slender majority.

Without naming Bengal or Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, the Prime Minister warned that "the killing of BJP workers is not acceptable in a democracy" and those responsible would be punished by the people.

Despite the slump in numbers, Kumar, who was declared the NDA's chief ministerial candidate by the BJP brass, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party chief J P Nadda, is set to take over the reins of the government.

On one side is the NDA which includes JD-U (115 seats), BJP (110 seats), Vikassheel Insaan Party (11 seats) and Jitan Ram Manjhi's Hindustani Awam Morcha (7 seats).

Election officials have said that results will be delayed as the number of polling stations have been increased from 72,723 earlier to 1,06,515, an increase of 46.5 per cent over the previous election, to ensure adherence to social distancing measures in view of the coronavirus pandemic. "I thank the people of this great country not because they gave BJP success in the elections, but because we all celebrated the festival of democracy", he said.

Alex Trebek passes away after battle with pancreatic cancer
Trebek, the host of " Jeopardy! " since 1984, first announced his cancer diagnosis to the world in early 2019. Trebek won the Daytime Emmy for Outstanding Game Show Host in June, bringing his total to seven.

Results from the Election Commission of India show that Modi's Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its coalition partners have returned to power after a tight race for control of the legislative assembly in Bihar, the country's third most populous state with more than 100 million people. The stakes are high for Nitish Kumar, the three-time chief minister, who is seeking a fourth term this time.

Within the NDA, the BJP won 74 seats out of the 110 it contested. The party, which contested alone, is said to have damaged Chief Minister Nitish Kumar's JD-U in at least 27 seats where the LJP candidates played the spoiler for the JD-U candidates.

The Lok Janshakti Party, which had quit the NDA in the state in the run-up to the October-November elections, ended up with one seat.

Despite losing, the Rashtriya Janata Dal emerged as the single-largest party, with 75 seats. However, Chirag's LJP, which gained two seats in 2015, could only clinch one seat for the party.

A major upshot of the gruelling electoral tussle between the two alliances was the resurgence of Left, which aligned with the RJD-Congress combine after being pushed to the margins in the post-Mandal era politics of Bihar.