Trump to add new countries to visa ban


The administration of President Donald Trump is planning to add Nigeria and six countries in Africa and Asia to a group of nations subject to travel restrictions, according to administration's officials who have seen the list.

The department suggested the White House expand the travel restrictions to Tanzania, Belarus, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Nigeria, and Sudan, according to a person familiar with the review who requested anonymity to discuss internal deliberations.

President Donald Trump may have done his utmost to distract him from impeachment in the U.S. Senate by extending the ban to more countries and setting a new record for most tweets and retweets in one day as President.

USA news platform, Politico hinted the announcement was expected on Monday, the three-year anniversary of the original order, which targeted several majority-Muslim nations.

The news broke as AP reported that the Trump administration would introduce new visa restrictions aimed at stamping out "birth tourism", in which women travel to the USA to give birth so their children can have a coveted U.S. passport. We need to be safe. "Our country has to be safe", he said.

Unlike the nations covered by the current ban, most of these new additions do not have Muslim-majority populations.

Читайте также: Doomsday Clock moves closest to midnight in its 73-year history

People protest the Trump administration's travel ban outside of the Supreme Court in Washington, D.C. on June 26, 2018. The list of countries was not final and could yet change, website Politico said.

United States officials say some countries have taken action or demonstrated some level of compliance in order to avoid making the list.

Speaking on January 22 to reporters in Davos, Switzerland, where he attended the annual World Economic Forum, Trump said, "You see what's going on in the world, our country has to be safe".

US President had confirmed his intention of expanding the list of travel ban nations, in an interview with The Wall Street Journal, but did not disclose the countries being considered.

Countries from Europe, Africa and Asia are being considered for the expanded order, according to United States media.

The ban was put in place by Presidential Proclamation 9645, which is titled "Enhancing Vetting Capabilities and Processes for Detecting Attempted Entry into the United States by Terrorists or other Public-Safety Threats".

При любом использовании материалов сайта и дочерних проектов, гиперссылка на обязательна.
«» 2007 - 2021 Copyright.
Автоматизированное извлечение информации сайта запрещено.

Код для вставки в блог