Notorious B.I.G. Gets Nominated for Rock & Roll Hall of Fame


16 artists are up for induction in the 2020 Rock Hall class, including Whitney Houston, the Doobie Brothers, Judas Priest, Pat Benatar (with Neil Giraldo), Dave Matthews Band, Nine Inch Nails, Motorhead (with Lemmy Kilmister), Soundgarden, Depeche Mode, Kraftwerk, MC5, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, Thin Lizzy, Todd Rundgren, Notorious B.I.G. and T. Rex.

Other first-time nominees for induction in 2020 were The Doobie Brothers, Motorhead and T-Rex.

Judas Priest, who were previously nominated in 2018 and got plenty of fan support the last time they were up for induction, are back on the ballot for the 2020 Rock Hall.

Biggie also is the only act among the nominees to make that list in his first year of eligibility.

Watch the announcement on the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's Twitter here.

This year's nominees for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame may be the most diverse yet. Sykes officially takes over from HOF founder and Rolling Stone publisher Jann Wenner.

READ: Prepared Testimony Of Ukraine Ambassador Ousted By Trump
"The harm will come when private interests circumvent professional diplomats for their own gain, not the public good", she said . She will likely be asked about USA military aid to Ukraine and details about the administration's decision to withhold that aid.

Nominee ballots are sent to an global voting body of more than 1,000 artists, historians and members of the music industry, according to the announcement.

The current core Dave Matthews Band lineup of Dave Matthews, Stefan Lessard, Carter Beauford, Tim Reynolds, Rashawn Ross, and Jeff Coffin were nominated alongside former fiddler Boyd Tinsley and late founding saxophonist LeRoi Moore.

This year marks the fourth in a row where fans will be able to go online and cast votes for their five favorite acts.

The rest of the nominees have been nominated before but not made the final cut.

The Notorious B.I.G. - a pride of NY, widely considered one of the greatest rappers of all time - was nominated in his first year of eligibility, which comes 25 years after the release of an act's first commercial recording. Chaka Khan, with and without the group Rufus, and Kraftwerk have both been up six times.