Phil Mickelson hits moving ball with putter at US Open


"I don't mean disrespect by anybody", Mickelson told Fox.

Phil Mickelson let his emotions get the best of him Saturday at the U.S. Open.

Phil Mickelson took one of the more weird penalties you will ever see at a major golf championship when he intentionally putted a ball that was still rolling.

That was a 2-stroke penalty and Mickelson ended up with a 9 on the hole.

Phil Mickelson ran up a sextuple-bogey 10 in a freakish incident which soured his 48th birthday celebrations on day three of the US Open.

At the other end of the leaderboard, Justin Rose saved par on the first after duffing his second shot from the fairway, with playing partner and Ryder Cup team-mate Henrik Stenson also making par to remain one over.

He trotted after it and when the ball was about 15 feet beyond the hole, and still trickling, he hit it back towards the hole. "He just laughed at me, he had no words to say". It appeared that he took 8 strokes before the two-stroke penalty was added.

Southgate's Lions are on their way to Russian Federation
Sending him out on loan would not be a bad idea for his development, however, losing a player such as this for an entire season would hurt us.

The 2018 U.S. Open is well underway.

Saturday was Mickelson's 48th birthday, and there were good vibes everywhere early in his round.

A loophole that some will consider against the general ethos of the game, Mickelson confirmed that there were "multiple times he wanted to do it" before today's incident on the 13th.

"I've never seen anything like that from a world class player in my life", said unusual.

However, Berger's score, which equalled the lowest of the week so far, proved that it was possible to make up ground, the world number 43 carding six birdies and two bogeys to move just outside the top 10.

Mickelson's actions were reminiscent of John Daly hitting a moving ball at Pinehurst No. 2 in the 1999 US Open. "As a result, he incurred a two stroke penalty for a breach of Rule 14-5".