E3 2019: What to expect from Microsoft, Nintendo, and EA

Share

Electronic Arts is going to get weekend festivities started with its own EA Play event, running June 8-9. Other games scheduled for the livestream include "Battlefield V", "FIFA 20", and "Apex Legends".

Sunday - June 9th: The day is starting with news from Xbox at 1 PM PT/4 PM ET.

Today, the company has gone a step further and revealed the exact games that will be playable on the show floor: Pokémon Sword and Shield, The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening (the upcoming remake, not the original), Luigi's Mansion 3, and Marvel Ultimate Alliance 3: The Black Order. Speaking from a purely software perspective, Microsoft will be headlining the show with Gears of War 5 and Halo Infinite, but there is bound to be a ton of other stuff in there too. The company might reveal more information about its Project xCloud service and is also expected to discuss the next-gen Xbox at the event.

Of course, Todd Howard could be pulling our legs when he says that Starfield and The Elder Scrolls 6 won't be at the show, but those are both still a while out and in recent years Bethesda has shied away from talking about games that are a long way off.

Dominic Thiem can go toe-to-toe with champion Rafael Nadal
Thiem completed a 6-2 3-6 7-5 5-7 7-5 triumph, in a match that began on Friday but spilled into the weekend due to rain in Paris.

With the potential of the first look at a new Animal Crossing game, as well as a peek inside the next set of Super Smash Bros.

Nintendo's Treehouse: Live stream will take place right after the Direct and at 9 a.m. PT on the following Wednesday and Thursday, which is when we'll get to see even more gameplay for these exciting new titles if they don't show up in the Direct. The company had said that it's skipping a release this year, and the same goes for Skull and Bones, that's delayed for 2020. Currently, the only game confirmed for the show is "Watch Dogs: Legion", which was leaked ahead of E3 thanks to Amazon.

Square Enix will bring Monday to a close with its second-ever E3 conference at 6 P.M. PST/9 P.M. EST.

In light of all the latest and greatest coming out of E3 2019, Microsoft has plans for huge things coming your way from their Xbox briefing on June 9, 1pm PT / June 10, 4am SGT. A Nintendo Switch Lite seems very likely considering the company's history with slimmed-down handheld system revisions, but it's doubtful Nintendo will reveal it at E3.

Share