Phil Mickelson apologizes for hitting moving ball at US Open

Share

However, Mickelson, who eventually made a 10 on the 13th in a round of 81 which equalled his highest score in the US Open, said: "If someone is offended I apologise, but toughen up". He's just focused on playing his best golf to give himself a chance to win his second major.

Commentators and analysts were stunned by the move, and some would later call for him to withdraw from the tournament.

This year in the Hamptons, the two players worked out together before each of the last two rounds but kept things professional from tee to green. "A lot of people have been pretty rough". "I love Dustin. He's one of my best friends". But it is what it is, and I'm pretty happy with the way I played today. This simply can't keep happening because it really is detrimental to the game, both in terms of making it a spectacle that excites and energises those who already play and watch golf and also attracting newcomers to the sport. "There's a little bit of stress".

Phil Mickelson has apologised for his rules breach at the US Open revealing he is "embarrassed" by his actions at Shinnecock Hills.

Kolarov scores from free kick, Serbia beats Costa Rica 1-0
The captain added that Costa Rica hoped to show on Sunday that they had learned from their mistakes. Kolarov capitalized on the opportunity, curling the free kick past Navas' reach.

"But that's the way it's supposed to be", he said. What is he doing?' But I " m not a rules person, so if the rules say two-strokes, then that's what he should have gotten".

Whether you are posing as the smartest guy in the room or the toughest major test of them all, there's a fine line between getting it spot on and drifting into the realms of ridicule, diminishing the greatness of the sport. "Sometimes in these situations it is just easier to take the two shots and move on". His third shot put him within 58 feet of the hole. He entered the final day in a four-way tie at 3 over and was still only one stroke behind Koepka when they made the turn. He missed another putt, Andrew "Beef" Johnston finished his hole, then Mickelson missed another attempt at a putt before finishing 6-over the par-4 hole.

For the purists, however, the unexpected move to putt a moving ball from one of golf's greatest ambassadors was a stain on the game, with many calling for the five-time major victor to be disqualified or to withdraw from the event. Johnson did not speak to reporters after the round was over. I'm sure he realizes it. Englishman Tommy Fleetwood shot a final day 63 to go into the clubhouse two over par, still hoping the rest of the field would come back to him, and it nearly did.

Share