Uttar Pradesh: Naeemul Hasan is Samajwadi Party candidate for Noorpur bypoll


With the opposition gearing up to corner it in another battle of ballots in the bypoll to Kairana Lok Sabha and Noorpur Assembly seats, the BJP seems to be precariously poised with Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath's prestuge at stake after the drubbing the party suffered in Gorakhpur and Phulpur bypolls.

Tabassum Beghum, a former BSP MP from Kairana, had later joined the SP.

Hasan is the Rashtriya Lok Dal candidate and has the support of the Samajwadi Party, Bahujan Samaj Party and the Congress. She joined the RLD in New Delhi on Sunday in the presence of party chief Ajit Singh and other senior leaders. "The division benefited the communal forces like the BJP and its right wing associates. A broad understanding has also emerged that the coming 2019 Lok Sabha elections should be contested together by all Opposition parties", said the RLD spokesman here on Saturday. Jayant said the bypolls in west UP will resurrect his party which got decimated in 2014 Lok Sabha and 2017 state polls. Jayant has been campaigning in west UP for a month and had initially shown interest in contesting from Kairana, but, says dropped the idea for the sake of Opposition unity.

The Ajit Singh-led party also said it would extend support to the Samajwadi Party (SP) in the Noorpur Assembly bypoll. According to reports, the parties have chose to contest the upcoming bypolls in Kairana and Noopur together.

Unified Korea lose in historic table tennis world championship semis
Talks for joint Korean teams at the Asian Games gained momentum last week following the inter-Korean summit. In Sweden, the Korean team will face the victor of a quarterfinal match between Ukraine and Japan.

The BJP was likely to play the emotional card this election as it would field late Hukum Singh's daughter Mriganka from Kairana Lok Sabha seat and Lokendra Singh's widow could be the BJP candidate from Noorpur assembly constituency.

Commenting on the RLD fielding Tabassum Begum from Kairana, Congress spokesperson Ashok Singh said they were hopeful of a repeat of the Gorakhpur and Phulpur feat.

Voting for Kairana Lok Sabha and Noorpur Assembly seat will be held on May 28. The RLD later agreed to extend support to a Samajwadi Party candidate. As per the arrangements, the SP candidate will be contesting from Kairana.

Though BSP has already declared that it would not take active part in any by-election, Mayawati will be consulted on the matter, as all the parties want to keep things clear among themselves in order to ensure the longevity of the alliance.