Kohli, Dhoni rested for upcoming T20I tri-series


India have made a decision to rest skipper Virat Kohli and wicket-keeper batsman MS Dhoni for the upcoming Twenty20 International Tri-Series in Sri Lanka. Looking at the heavy workload of the Indian team in this calendar, the selectors might be thinking to rest some of the senior regular players in the upcoming tri-series.

Shikhar Dhawan has been named as Rohit's deputy for the T20I series.

Former skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni was also rested, which allowed Delhi's Rishabh Pant to join the squad as the second wicketkeeper, along with Dinesh Karthik. The Chairman of All-India Senior Selection Committee, MSK Prasad, said: "We've kept in mind the workload and upcoming schedule while finalising the team for Nidahas Trophy".

Kuldeep Yadav, BhuvneshwarKumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya have also been rested.

PM takes dig at Cong dynastic rule
"I met PM Narendra Modi and asked him to waive the loan of the poor farmers just like he waived the loans of the businessmen". During his visit, he also stopped at several prominent local temples and religious centres.

Off-spinner Washington Sundar, leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal, left-arm spinner Axar Patel, all-rounder Vijay Shankar, fast bowlers Mohammad Siraj, Jaydev Unadkat and Shardul Thakur (who played two Twenty20s in the tour of South Africa) have been chosen to shoulder the bowling responsibilities.

The Indian team is currently in the African nation where they would be now taking on the hosts now in the T20 series-deciding match on February 24 in Capetown, as the series is now levelled 1-1. Baroda batsman Deepak Hooda got his first India call-up on the back of some impressive performances in domestic cricket, especially in the shorter formats. Vijay Shankar and Mohammad Siraj have also been included in the India squad.

Among the more established names, Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Suresh Raina and Manish Pandey are in the squad. The Nidahas Trophy will see India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh play each other twice in the tournament with the top 2 teams heading to play the final on March 18.