BJP to withdraw Vijaya Rahatkar's name from Rajya Sabha election


With the BJP keen to up its numbers in the Rajya Sabha, and choosing strategic nominees, the biennial elections are certain to change the tide in the Upper House.

The BJP has fielded four candidates while as Congress, nationalist Congress Party and Shiv Sena has fielded one each.

Ms. Patel has sent her resignation to the party leaders. "He has also not mentioned serious allegations in his affidavit", Gujarat BJP president Jitu Vaghani said. However, Congress leaders rubbished it as a rumour and reiterated that the tribal leader would arrive to file his nomination. But the BJP is "Bahut Jhoothi Party" (big lying party). "This might split the votes of Congress MLAs", Gujarat Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel said. Its workers and leaders are not happy with their leadership.

Hussain, a Youth Congress leader, obtained doctorate in worldwide politics from the Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi. After the names were announced, Gujarat Women Congress chief Sonal Patel resigned.

Several Virginia counties under winter weather advisory beginning at midnight
Holding to the prediction of around an inch, Shafer said there could be higher snowfall amounts to the north and east. The Winter Storm Warning will be in effect from 7 p.m. tonight until 7 a.m.

The Leader of Opposition in the state Assembly, Abdul Mannan, however, tried to put up a fearless face, saying the TMC's decision to support Singhvi would not affect the Congress' equations with the CPI (M) in Bengal. However, it has fielded 11 candidates in a bid to make sure the additional votes. My documents according to requirements were submitted.

Meanwhile, the BJP has reportedly made a decision to field Rajiv Chandrashekar, who hails from Kerla, as its candidate due to pressure from the RSS.

"We have informed the Election Commission about the irregularities in the nomination forms of Congress Rajya Sabha candidate Naran Rathwa and independent PK Valera", Mr Goyal later told reporters. Elections to the five Rajya Sabha seats has been necessitated as the terms of Kunal Ghosh, Bibek Gupta and Nadimul Haque of the Trinamool Congress and Tapan Sen of Communist Party of India-Marxist will end on April 2. The BJP, however, is gambling on Rahatkar's fourth candidature. They did it in last RS election in Gujarat, yet could not win.

"With BJP's four votes being uncertain, we would have needed more cross-voting from the YSRCP". Returning officer for the election said, "All the nominations will be scrutinised and cleared by Tuesday afternoon".